Tournament of Books X Mini-Reviews

So, I didn’t make it through my goal of reading all the books in the Tournament of Books shortlist this year. What can I say, law school gets in the way of everything fun! But I did manage to make it through 7, which is more than I was able to do last year, and I’m working on book #8 now (Long Division by Kiese Laymon, which I’m enjoying so far). Since the pre-playoff round of the Tournament is tomorrow, I thought I’d share my thoughts with you all on the books I have read. But I think straight-up books reviews all the time can get boring, so I did these with a twist—a Twitter-style twist.

announcing-the-morning-news-tournament-of-books-x

Here are my thoughts on some of the Tournament of Books X finalists, in 140 characters or less…

15790842

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson15745753 Fascinating premise—what if you were reborn each time you died + lived a new life? Took me a bit to get into, but then couldn’t put it down.

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
We reviewed this as our first BoTM in Dec. Really liked the story and even when it felt saccharine-sweet, it also made me smile and swoon.

17262100

The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri

Everybody should read Jhumpa Lahiri’s books. I adore Interpreter of Maladies, but for those readers who prefer novels, pick up The Lowland.

15797938The Dinner by Herman Koch16126596
Billed as next Gone Girl, The Dinner was interesting book w/ twisty narrative + rotten characters but didn’t quite live up to hype for me.

The People in the Trees
by Hanya Yanighara
Prob wouldn’t have read this if not for its inclusion on #ToB shortlist but so glad that I did. Surprising + lovely. #holyfootnotesbatman

15811545

A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki
Past, present, quantum physics, history, and myth converge in humorous tale about a young Japanese girl and the writer who finds her diary.

How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia by Mohsin Hamid
Colorful and evocative story disguised as a business self-help book follows nameless hero seeking wealth but tempted by siren call of love.

15815364

Leave a Reply

