2013: A Year in Review

2013 has been one roller coaster of a year, full of sky-high peaks and low valleys. Regardless of where things go from here, 2013 has been a year full of moments that I will not soon forget.

How is it possible that one calendar year can contain the immensely contradictory worlds of a 2L and a 3L? 2L year is most certainly the year of being worked to death, because entire law schools are run by 2Ls; but 3L year holds something magical, even if it can be hard to find at times in the darkest depths of senioritis. It’s about the fantastical intersection between finally understanding what the heck is going on in class and no longer caring about grades; between being at the top of the heap and staring out at a world where you’ll soon be starting again at the bottom; between being thankful that you are FINALLY almost done with school forever and being already a little bit nostalgic for the days of deep conversations in seminar and eureka moments when the doctrine finally makes sense, even for just a moment. Most days I can hardly wait to get out of law school, but once in a while I remember to stop, look around, and soak it all up.

2013 has also been an incredible year when it comes to books, and I don’t mean just reading them. I’ve always been a bookworm, but this year has brought with it so many connections to people, friendships made, and relationships deepened, thanks to the worlds have come alive off some incredible pages. Whether it’s watching the first showing of Catching Fire with 20-something of my law school classmates at our local theater, debating the merits of the ending to Veronica Roth’s Divergent series with a group of girlfriends after class, or making new friends online that I’ve never met in person but with whom I share uncannily similar taste in books, reading has carved its way into my day-to-day reality, finding ways to strengthen the bonds I share with people I love. This blog is the most visible example, but by no means the only one.

So, without further ado, a toast to some of the best of the year.

2013 in Books

 A few of my favorite reads this year

Best of 2013 in Books.001

 

2013 in Moments

 A few of my favorite experiences this year

Best of 2013 Moments.001

2013 in Music

 A few of the albums I listened to on repeat this year

Best of Music 2013.001

2013 in Instagram

 A few of my favorite pictures from this year

Best of 2013 Instagram.001

Happy 2014! May your new year be happy, prosperous, and bright.

J.Mart

Leave a Reply

