2014 TBR Pile Challenge

So here’s the thing: I read. A LOT. And somehow my bookshelves still look like this:

jessica's bookshelf

(That’s not all of my collection — half still lives at my parents’ house, plus I had to cut out a few shelves and another floor pile that didn’t fit in the picture. And yep, the piles on the floor have started. Oy!)

Even with all those unread books, I still manage to check far too many out of the library. And let’s not get started on how many books are sitting on my Nook, Kindle, Kobo, Sony, iBooks, etc., accounts, waiting to be read. Oh yeah, and now I have an Oyster account. (Oyster is awesome!) 

So I’m going to join the 2014 TBR Pile Challenge, hosted by one of my very favorite book bloggers, Adam at Roof Beam Reader. The challenge is to read 12 books that have been sitting on your bookshelf for more than one full year. Sounds easy, right? Well, somehow I’ve failed miserably the last two years — I didn’t even manage to read a single book from my challenge list this year! But those bookshelves are looking crazy, and yes, it’s only 12 books, but hey. Gotta start somewhere. So I’m going to participate in the TBR Pile Challenge again this year. My challenge post is up at my tumblr, but I thought I’d post my list here too.

Here it is:

1. Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann
2. Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer
3. Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick
4. The Complete Sherlock Holmes, Vol. 1 by Arthur Conan Doyle
5. No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy
6. The Secret History by Donna Tartt
7. American Gods by Neil Gaiman
8. The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan
9. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
10. The History of Love by Nicole Krauss
11. Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin
12. The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien

Alternates (You get to pick 2, just in case):

1. Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami
2. In Cold Blood by Truman Capote

To participate, all you have to do is sign up on the challenge page, and create a list! Then you just have to write up a short review of each book as you finish it. There are fun things like prizes and monthly check-ins, so maybe I’ll actually be on top of things this time.

Happy Reading!

J.Mart

One thought on “2014 TBR Pile Challenge

  1. Pingback: 2015 TBR Pile Challenge | Between the Lines Book Club

Leave a Reply

